Used Car Inspections

What is ASE and ASE Certifications?

You may have seen the ASE blue logo at a repair shop or seen an ASE blue patch on the Technician's uniform. ASE stands for National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence. ASE is a national testing organization which sets standards for automotive technicians. To become certified by ASE, a technician first must have experience on a particular system, then take and pass the ASE test for that system. All ASE certifications are valid for 5 years, then the Technician must re-take and pass the current test to be re-certified on that particular system.

Example: a person has been working at a brake repair shop for a year and wants to become ASE Certified on brakes. Since he has met the experience criteria for brakes, he may take the ASE test on the braking systems. Once the Technician passes the ASE test on brakes, he is then known as an ASE Certified Technician, but just only on the braking system. The Technician can now wear the ASE blue patch on his uniform and display the ASE logo at his place of work.

There are 8 different  general automotive areas (see below) that Technicians can be tested and certified.  If a Technician is certified in all 8 mechanical and electrical systems, he is then know as a ASE Master Certified Technician.

When you see the ASE logo at a repair facility, be aware, that not all the mechanics at the shop need to be ASE Certified. Unless you ask, you don't know if the mechanic working on your car is ASE Certified in that area.

Today's automobiles are so technologically advanced that most Technicians specialize in just a few areas. A Technician that has the experience level on every mechanical and electrical system, and has been certified by ASE in all 8 automotive testing areas (see below), is given the "Masters Certification".

Here are the 8 automotive areas needed to pass be become an ASE Certified Master Technician:

  1. Engine Repair
  2. Automatic Trans/Transaxle
  3. Manual Drive Train and Axles
  4. Suspension and Steering
  5. Brakes
  6. Engine Repair
  7. Electrical/Electrical Systems
  8. Engine Performance

A pre-purchase inspection (PPI) needs to have all 8 automotive areas inspected by a Technician that is certified on all 8 areas, which is an ASE Master Certified Technician.